Islands in Sri Lanka 0 503

Islands in Sri Lanka 0 504

Did you know we have 62 islands in Sri Lanka? They are mainly in the North, North western and Eastern provinces of Sri Lanka. However, not all islands have living inhabitants but can be really great places to go on an adventure! 

Islands in North of Sri Lanka

Jaffna is a good place to start at as the district has 19 islands including Velanai (Kayts), Karaitivu, Nainativu (Nagadeepa), Neduntheevu also known as Delft, Pungudutivu, Mandaitivu, Analaitivu, Eluvaitivu and more.

Nainativu (Nagadeepa) is one of the most visited islands and is approximately 37 km from Jaffna. You can get to the island by taking the bus from Jaffna town to Kurikadduvan Jetty and from there the ferry to Nainativu. The island is the home to the Hindu shrine and temple Sri Naga Pooshani Amman and Buddhist shrine and temple Nagadeepa Purana Viharaya.   

Neduntheevu also called Delft is 30 km away from the Jaffna Peninsula. To get to the island you have to take the bus from Jaffna town to Punkuditive and the ferry from there. Neduntheevu’s few highlights are the Growing Stone,  Baobab Tree, Roaming wild horses, Dutch fort, Pigeon hole, Giant foot print hole, stable horses, 12 branch Palmyrah tree, India Border, sandy white beaches and more I wrote about earlier.

These islands are perfect for day trips from Jaffna especially if you are staying at Yoho Til Jaffna.

The district of Mannar has three islands and they are Kalliaditivu (Galadi doova), Puliyantivu (Kotidoova) and Mannar (Mannaram doopatha). The island of Mannar is the dry isle with lots of palms trees, white sand, donkeys and fishing boats. Some of the highlights of Mannar include Our Lady Madhu Church, Thirukketeeswaram Kovil, Lighthouse, Dutch fort, Baobab tree and Keeri beach.

Islands in North western and Eastern province

The North Western province islands are situated in the Puttlam lagoon and there are 16 islands from the north to south of the lagoon. There are no inhabitants in the islands.

In the towns of Batticaloa and Trincomalee there are total of 18 islands. Batticaloa has twelve islands and the island of Puliyanthivu has approximately 7000 living inhabitants. There are many historical places as old schools, St. Mary’s Cathedral, Jami-Us-Salam Mosque, Old dutch fort and governmental buildings more. If you are planning to visit the islands in Batticaloa our property at Yoho Naaval would be ideal to be based at.

Trincomalee is a charming town with white beaches, clear blue waters and Pigeon Island is one of the six islands in the city. There are no inhabitants living but Pigeon Island National Park is one of the two marine national parks in Sri Lanka. If you are planning a holiday and looking for a place to stay our property at Yoho Post Office Road is worth checking out.

Thinking of visiting any islands in Sri Lanka?

Previous ArticleNext Article
Nastashia Ekanayake is a travel enthusiastic who enjoys travelling solo when budget and time permit. Having currently moved back to Sri Lanka, she functions as an administration professional by day and wanderer and foodie by night. She enjoys journaling her adventures, exploring the joys of Instagram and looking up her next travel destination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular Topics